Untitled document
Official Home of the ORIGINAL VAMPIRE DIARIES BOOKS!

Reviews by Readers

It is my new favorite book and I am actually sad that I am done with it.

on Tuesday, 27 September 2011 00:48. Posted in Reviews by Readers

Untitled document
By Sarah McNeely
Book_TVD_TheForbiddenGameThis comment came in as an eMail. September 27, 2011

Hi, I just got done reading The Forbidden Game tonight and I just had to write you and tell you how amazing I thought it was. It is my new favorite book and I am actually sad that I am done with it. I read the 3 in 1 book and blew through those 750 pages in 3 days. It captivated me and I just LOVED Julian. I just went to your "What to read next" link and saw that you said that you will be making a sequel??? If so, oh man I am so excited for it!! I am not a huge reader and I only read a couple books a year and this book just blew me away. So I wanted to thank you for doing such an amazing job with it. Honestly, I don't know where to go from here. I feel like any book I read will not amount to this one. :) I am a big fan of The Vampire Diaries and I love the show too. Stefan and Damon are amazingly attractive in the show. Anyways, thank you again for writing this book. You should be proud because you did an amazing job.

I am very glad I did read it!!!!

on Wednesday, 20 July 2011 01:00. Posted in Reviews by Readers

Untitled document
By Sunny
Book_TheForbiddenGame_Vol1This review is from: Good Reads:  The Forbidden Game

Okay, this is the weirdest review I have ever done, so don't give me a hundred "not helpful votes" please. I am just trying to be honest.

The first part of the book Jenny is looking to buy a game (at a game store) because she is having a group of friends coming over to her house to hang out. At the game store she chooses the most "unusual" game to buy because the "guy" at the game store talks her into buying this particular game. Fast forward a little - Julian (the guy at the store) is actually from the dark world. He has been watching Jenny for years, from a far and is totally in love with her. He wants her with him in his world. Jenny's boyfriend thinks differently. Any hoo...Jenny's friends start the game not knowing that it is a "forbidden game". It turns out that the game is magical... and here are the rules - if Julian wins, he gets Jenny - if Jenny and her friends win, they go free. Simple right? - Wrong - because Julian is in charge of the game.

The characters are all likeable. Julian (the villain), you have a love/hate kind of thing going on. This book takes you thru 3 books. This book is the most unique book I have ever read! Smith did an excellent job of making this a book so that you are so far drawn in, you will stay up till 4 in the morning to see how it ends.

I think it is a possibility that it is one of the best books I have ever read.

***Possible Spoiler***

However, to do it all over - I would not have read the book!!! The ending broke my heart, literally. I cried so much at the ending that I was dripping tears on the pages. I have never reacted to a book this strongly. I finished reading it at 4am and cried in bed until 6am. The next morning my husband asked me what was wrong and I just started crying all over again and then I had to explain to him I was crying over a "fiction book". He hugged me and asked me to tell him the story and then he let me cry some more. (I have the best husband in the world!!) So...............I know this is a weird review. I wish I had never opened the book because it haunts me.

***Update to Spoiler***

I read this book back in July of 2009 - nearly a year ago when I first wrote my review. I feel differently now. I am so glad I read the book. Since then I have learned sometimes to make a great book, you don't necessarily have to have a perfect "Happily Ever After". Actually - not having a perfect "Happily ever After" is what sometimes makes the most excellent books!!! So - looking back - I am very glad I did read it!!!!

Great Ending to a Great Series

on Tuesday, 07 June 2011 03:28. Posted in Reviews by Readers

Untitled document
By Heather
Book_TVD_MidnightWow... What amazing ending to a captivating series of books. I feel totally satisfied with how everything came together. No loose ends, or anything to leave me feeling let down. I know L.J. Smith has said this would be the last book... But I still want more!

The Vampire Diaries: The Return: Midnight

on Tuesday, 07 June 2011 03:27. Posted in Reviews by Readers

Untitled document
By Katlen
Book_TVD_MidnightL.J Smith has done it again and better. The Vampires Diaries:Midnight is addictive, empowering and romantic! When I wasn't reading I was thinking about the characters..what was going to happen next. I could not put this book down. She has giving us twist and turns and peace in the end. The book is simply breathtaking and riveting.

I can't seem to get enough.

on Tuesday, 20 September 2011 01:21. Posted in Reviews by Readers

Untitled document
By Alexa
Book_TheVampireDiaries5This review is from Alexa's Blog "Alexa Loves Books"  The Vampire Diaries: The Return: Nightfall

The Vampire Diaries is fast becoming one of my favorite book series, simply because I can't seem to get enough of it. I'm easily drawn into the world of vampires, demons and other otherworldly creatures in the town of Fell's Church and I actually like it that way.

Nightfall is an intriguing new addition to the series. Whereas the first four books dealt with the arrival of Stefan and Damon and what that meant for the town of Fell's Church, this book starts a brand new plot line altogether - about what happens after Elena's return to the world of the living.

I refuse to spoil the actual story so I'll leave it at this - I love how L.J. Smith weaves her mythology together in this one, especially since of my favorite cultures comes into play. There's elements of mystery, of the fantastical and of the real world brought together perfectly. I appreciated her descriptions and how they made the images come alive in my mind, which made the book just that much more gripping.

Elena was a brilliant character in parts of the book (especially when she had first returned) and I love that L.J. Smith has made her character so special after everything that's happened to her. But my favorite female character is Bonnie, if only because I feel like if I were going to be anyone in the series, it would be her - with her witchy skills and her childlike personality.

Damon is still my favorite male character (although I thought Matt stepped up his game a lot this time around!) I have a soft spot for Damon in the TV series, and the same follows for the book. It's his magnetic, sarcastic, ice cold bad boy personality that both attracts and repels me (which I know sounds crazy, but I'm hoping you know what I mean) -- and I like that in this particular book, we get a view of his vulnerability and his true feelings for Elena. I'm dying to know how it all ends for him and I'm crossing my fingers that it's a satisfactory ending.

Even though reading the book was such an emotional roller coaster for me with its ups, downs and twists, I really enjoyed it and I'm so psyched to move on to the next book in the series, Shadow Souls!

Amazing!!

on Tuesday, 07 June 2011 03:32. Posted in Reviews by Readers

Untitled document
By Nabzy
Book_TVD_MidnightThis review is from: The Vampire Diaries: The Return: Midnight (Hardcover)

This book was truly worth the wait!! It was excellent and something that only L.J Smith could write!! I am sorry to know that there will not be any more written by her :( The detail and description of this book was fabulous and I just wished it never ended :)

Don't let Midnight be the last Vampire Diaries by L.J. Smith

on Tuesday, 07 June 2011 03:31. Posted in Reviews by Readers

Untitled document
By Tina78
Book_TVD_MidnightI just finished reading Midnight. I absolutely loved it!! There are lots of twist, especially at the end. I don't want to spoil the book for you. I'll just say that as a Damon+Bonnie fan I was not disappointed. I really like the Damon of the books a lot better than the Damon of the TV series. He is much more developed in the books. I had originally thought that this was the final book in the series. I was thrilled to find out that there is actually another Vampire Diaries trilogy in the works. However, my joy was short lived when I heard that L.J. Smith was fired from writing her own books. They are going to get a ghostwriter to finish them. I guess the publisher didn't like the time she was giving to Damon and Bonnie and Damon and Elena. I think Elena should be with Stefan, but I also feel that the book should go in whichever direction L.J. Smith thinks is right. These are her characters and no body else's. People who want to see the characters go in a different direction can watch the TV series. That way there is something for everyone without stealing from L.J. Smith.

I found this petition to help keep L.J. as the author of Vampire Diaries.

[...]

This is about more than just whether or not you enjoy her books. It's about not letting publishers bully our authors.

Amazing!

on Tuesday, 07 June 2011 03:25. Posted in Reviews by Readers

Untitled document

By Creasy
Book_TVD_MidnightL.J. Smith has always astounded me with her work. It's like looking at a masterpiece, you will not be disappointed by the book Midnight, I assure you. It made me feel happy, sad, angry, and the list goes on and on. It takes a special kind of person to make the readers feel such strong emotions. GET THIS BOOK!